Tengai Makyou II: Manjimaru

Tengai Makyou II: Manjimaru

The second game in the Japanese-exclusive Tengai Makyou role-playing franchise.


Tengai Makyou II: Manjimaru is the sequel to Tengai Makyou: Ziria, a turn-based RPG, that was developed by RED Company and was initially released for the PC-Engine CD in Japan by Hudson on March 26, 1992. The title was eventually remade in 2003 for the Gamecube and Playstation 2 which featured 3-denominational models/environments, full motion video for cutscenes, and an enhanced soundtrack. A port of the original PC-Engine version was also released for the Nintendo DS in 2006 that contained optional stylus controls as well as the enhanced soundtrack from the console remake. Finally, Manjimaru saw one last release in 2008 on the PlayStation Portable as part of a compilation package called the Tengai Makyou Collection.


During the time of its release, Tengai Makyou II was thought to be the most expensive video game ever developed. The game's budget in 1992 was estimated to be 500 million yen, close to 4 million dollars at the time, which was much larger than the average development cost for an RPG of its era [1].


The original PC Engine game featured a bloody cutscene in which a character has her arm violently ripped off and face slashed. This scene was modified in the Gamecube, Playstation 2, DS and PSP releases to show less violence. A CG where a female character's erect nipples had been slightly visible through her clothing was also altered in the ports and remakes.


The soundtrack of the game was composed by Joe Hisaishi and Hirohiko Fukuda. The initial OST for the original title was released in Japan on February 1st, 1992. A remastered OST, used in both the Gamecube and Playstation 2 remakes, was released in the same territory on October 22nd, 2003.

Track Listing

Disc One

  1. Title
  2. Opening (Space)
  3. Manjimaru's Theme
  4. Taro's Theme
  5. Kabuki's Theme
  6. Kinu's Theme
  7. L Map (General)
  8. Walking Towards Ruin
  9. The Attack of the Root
  10. Steel Castle Theme
  11. Murderous Intention
  12. Boss Battle
  13. L Map (Those Who Possess the Saintly Sword)
  14. Machine Brute DEBEBE
  15. Demon Animal
  16. The Challenge Towards God
  17. Ending

Disc Two

  1. A Peaceful Village
  2. Vigorous Castle Town
  3. Requiem to a Family Killed By Eden
  4. Tray's Theme and New Year's Day
  5. A Hermit's Theme
  6. Eden
  7. Intellectual Calm
  8. Miracle-working
  9. Sacred Space
  10. Fierce Battle
  11. Desperate Struggle
  12. There is no End to Battle
  13. Advance During the Calm
  14. Demon Lurking in the Darkness
  15. Wicked Heart Worship
  16. Into the Stomach of an Animal
  17. The Premonition of a Desperate Struggle
  18. Paradise of Evil
  19. Me, an Easy Going Missionary
  20. Gold, That's Life
  21. Narcissist's Theme
  22. Narcissist's Sword Dance
  23. Great Foolishness
  24. Highspeed Flight Vehicle
  25. Lightweight Ground Vehicle
  26. Midweight Ground Vehicle
  27. Heavyweight Ground Vehicle
  28. Submarine
  29. A Stupid Vehicle
  30. Saintly Sword is in My Hand
  31. Dark History
  32. Severe Women
  33. Shopping Center
  34. A Huge Ally Appears
  35. Exceed a Friends Death
  36. Separation With God
  37. Armaments
  38. Demon Lies Hidden in the Cave
  39. Kill the Nunchaku Rogue
  40. Manjimaru's Theme (Narration)
  41. EXTRA 1
  42. EXTRA 2
  43. Jingle Collection


  1. The Untold History of Japanese Games Volume 2 (Interview with Hiromasa Iwasaki, page 97).