Hack, Slash, Loot

Hack, Slash, Loot

Hack, Slash, Loot is a 2D downloadable dungeon-crawl roguelike. Combat is turn-based and players fight their way through levels collecting loot.


Hack, Slash, Loot is a roguelike game developed by David Williamson and available for Windows and Mac OS platforms.

The game is notable among other roguelikes for its stylized pixelart visuals and simple, mouse-friendly control scheme, but follows many of the genre's staples with randomly generated dungeons, turn-based gameplay and permanent character death.


Upon starting a new game, players can either choose a quest and character class or may have them randomly selected on their behalf.

Various statistics on player performance are tracked across all games played and can be viewed on the main menu: the total number of turns taken, number of enemies killed, total character deaths, and the number of times the player has completed quests.


Initially, only four character classes are available -- Saracen, Knight, Wizard, and Archer -- but an additional 28 classes may be unlocked via various in-game achievements.

Like most roguelikes and roleplaying games, each class has a set of attributes that determines how they will perform:

  • Melee Attack/Damage
  • Ranged Attack/Damage
  • Magic Attack/Damage
  • Defence
  • Health

While these attributes can be upgraded via potions and equipment found while exploring, the game does not feature a traditional experience point-based leveling system.


Hack, Slash, Loot contains six independent quests, all of which are immediately available and can be played in any order:

  • Journey to the Kimon
  • Mask of the boy king
  • They dwell beneath
  • Dark hearts and evil minds
  • Battle for Stormrise
  • Tower of the Magus

System Requirements


  • OS: Windows XP, Vista, 7
  • DirectX┬«: dx50
  • Hard Drive: 10 MB HD space


  • OS: OS X 10.4, or later
  • Hard Drive: 10 MB HD space


  • OS: Ubuntu 10.10 or later
  • Hard Drive: 10 MB HD Spacs