Star Wars: Episode I - Jedi Power Battles

Star Wars: Episode I - Jedi Power Battles

Jedi Power Battles is a game from LucasArts where players play through some of the more explosive events from Star Wars: The Phantom Menace.


Star Wars Episode I: Jedi Power Battles was released on the Playstation on March 31, 2000 and later on the Dreamcast. It takes place within the events of Episode I: The Phantom Menace. The game is an action beat-em up with platforming elements and the games levels are set on the worlds of Naboo, Tatooine, Coruscant, and a Trade Federation Battleship. There are a number of playable characters including Obi-Wan Kenobi, Qui-Gon Jinn, Mace Windu, Adi Gallia, and Plo Koon.

Made by LucasArts, Jedi Power Battles was released shortly after the direct movie tie-in; "Stars Wars Episode One; The Phantom Menace". Unlike this previous game, the focus is almost entirely on action, and the game's 10 levels take the form of memorable battles that are loosely based on locations and events from the film. The game also has a basic levelling system, based on how many points you're able to amass playing each level. You're able to upgrade both your health, and the amount of force power energy you have.


The game lets the player take control of five Jedi from the era of episodes 1-3, each with their own special Force abilities. These Jedi, and their starting special abilities are as follows:

  • Qui-Gon Jinn - Shockwave: Qui-Gon releases the power of the Force in a 360-degree attack.
  • Obi-Wan Kenobi - Saber Dash: Obi-Wan races forward, cutting down enemies in his path.
  • Mace Windu - Saber Shield: Mace causes his lightsaber to spin around him for quick protection.
  • Adi Gallia - Mesmerize: Adi lulls nearby enemies into a trance.
  • Plo Koon - Saber Cyclone: Plo whirls around in a 360-degree spin with his lightsaber.

You can also unlock more characters to play as:

  • Darth Maul - Complete the game as Qui-Gon Jinn.
  • Captain Panaka - Complete the game as Obi Wan Kenobi on the Dreamcast, or Plo Koon on the Playstation.
  • Battle Droid - Complete the first level as all five starting characters. (Dreamcast only)
  • Queen Amidala - Complete the game as Adi Gallia on the Dreamcast, or Obi-Wan on the Playstation.
  • Ki-Adi-Mundi - Complete all seven training levels, then save the game. (Dreamcast only)

Most of the characters have a lightsaber as their primary weapon (the exceptions being Amidala and Panaka). As the game is more action based than the official movie game, the combat system is made paramount. The player can lock onto an enemy, and then use combo attacks to defeat them. Lasers can also be deflected using the lightsaber by timing the block button just as the blast is about to hit you.


01 Trade Federation Battleship

Points EarnedBonus Level
8,000Combo Bonus
16,000Energy Bonus
24,000Extra Life Bonus

02 Swamps of Naboo

Points EarnedBonus Level
7,000Combo Bonus
14,000Energy Bonus
21,000Force Bonus

03 City of Theed

Points EarnedBonus Level
10,500Energy Bonus
21,000Combo Bonus
31,500Attack Bonus

04 Theed Palace

Points EarnedBonus Level
14,000Energy Bonus
26,000Combo Bonus
39,000Defense Bonus

05 Tatooine

Points EarnedBonus Level
12,000Combo Bonus
23,000Energy Bonus
34,000Force Bonus

06 Coruscant

Points EarnedBonus Level
17,000Combo Bonus
34,000Energy Bonus
51,000Attack Bonus

07 Ruins

Points EarnedBonus Level
20,000Energy Bonus
25,000Combo Bonus
30,000Defense Bonus

08 Streets of Theed

Points EarnedBonus Level
2,550Extra Life Bonus
5,100Combo Bonus
7,650Energy Bonus

09 Palace Cliffs

Points EarnedBonus Level
5,000Extra Life Bonus
9,000Energy Bonus
14,000Combo Bonus

10 Final Battle

Points EarnedBonus Level
4,000Combo Bonus
8,000Energy Bonus
12,000Attack Bonus

Boss Fights

  • 01 Trade Federation Battleship - Loader Droid / Starfighter Droid
  • 02 Swamps of Naboo - Slaatik Hagworm
  • 03 City of Theed - Turret Droid
  • 04 Theed Palace - Plasma Droids
  • 05 Tatooine - Armored Krakkiss / Darth Maul
  • 06 Coruscant - Thug Boss
  • 07 Ruins - Gungan Security Chief
  • 08 Streets of Theed - N/A
  • 09 Palace Cliffs - N/A
  • 10 Final Battle - Darth Maul


  • Battle Droid (100 Points)
  • Pilot Droid (50 Points)
  • Security Droid (150 Points)
  • Rifle Droid (100 Points)
  • Commander Droid (200 Points)
  • Grapple Droid (350 Points)
  • Flame Droid (350 Points)
  • Plasma Droid (350 Points)
  • Stap (200 Points)
  • Destroyer Droid (300 Points)
  • Tusken Raider (150 Points / 200 Points)
  • Jawa (50 Points)
  • Probe Droid (100 Points / 150 Points)
  • Coruscant Thugs (100 Points / 150 Points)
  • Kreetle (100 Points)
  • Carnivorous Plant
  • Gungans (100 Points)

Dreamcast Version

The original PlayStation release received mediocre scores by critics, but it should be noted that the Dreamcast version added a significant amount of bonus content, going beyond being a simple port. The Dreamcast version featured improved graphics, a new front-end menu, a competitive multiplayer duelling mode that allowed you to play as nearly every character in the game (including enemies), an additional training mode, as well as alterations in gameplay to moderate the difficulty level.