Dragon Ball Z: Burst Limit

Dragon Ball Z: Burst Limit

A spiritual successor to the Dragon Ball Z: Budokai series of fighting games, Burst Limit marks the first appearance of the Dragon Ball series on seventh-generation consoles.


Dragon Ball Z: Burst Limit is a 2.5D sci-fi fantasy fighting game developed by Dimps and published by Namco Bandai for the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 in Europe and Japan on June 6, 2008. It was later released in North America by Atari on June 10, 2008.

The first adaptation of the Dragon Ball manga and anime series to be released on seventh-generation consoles, Burst Limit is a spiritual successor to the Dragon Ball Z: Budokai series of fighting games and utilizes most of the gameplay mechanics found in Dragon Ball Z: Budokai 3.

Similar to the original Dragon Ball Z: Budokai, the story in Burst Limit takes place throughout most of the Dragon Ball Z arc of the series, including the arrival of the Saiyans, the journey on the planet Namek, and the battle against Dr. Gero's android creations (including the "perfect warrior" Cell). It also features two bonus "what-if" scenarios: one involving the Saiyan Bardock and one involving the Saiyan Broly.


Dragon Ball Z: Burst Limit is set apart from previous games with the introduction of Drama Pieces. Drama pieces are short cutscenes that play out during a battle once certain conditions are met. They often have effects on the status of characters, such as the increase or decrease of a character's health, defense, or ki.

Some of the more general gameplay changes include not being able to charge up ki energy. Rather, it fills up automatically during fights. Once full players can use aura spark, use ultimate attacks, and if available complete transformations.

Ultimate attacks are the game's equivalent of special moves. Each character has one or more, and chooses before each match in versus mode. It's not uncommon for a single ultimate attack to take away en entire bar of an opponent's health. Aura Spark lasts only a short while. It makes players stronger and allows them to knock their opponents into the air, initiating a short minigame. Both players must mash the face buttons to get their color (red or blue) to fill a bar on the bottom of the screen. The bar is divided into three sections. The players that starts the game has to get their color from the left to the right; the player on the receiving end must get their color from the right to the left. If both colors are in the middle then the minigame ends in a draw. If the players that starts it gets their color to the far end then they win and do quite a bit of damage to their opponent. However, the player that gets hit with this move can reverse it if they are fast enough.


In the versus mode players choose a partner before each fight who sometimes jump in and deliver an attack to their opponent just before leaving.

Trial Chalenges

Trial challenges ask players to win 100 matches without dying or finish ten matches within a time limit.

Story mode

Z Chronicles, the game's story mode differs from past games in that players don't choose the character they play as. Instead, players are commonly placed in the shoes of whatever character wins the major fights throughout the series.

  • Saiyan Saga
  • Frieza Saga
  • Cell Saga
  • Bardock Saga (alt. story)
  • Broly Saga (alt. story)


The game includes 21 playable characters, 18 of which must be unlocked beforehand.